top of page
Search

You'll Never Walk Alone

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

You'll Never Walk Alone

Lyrics by: Kelsey Heystek

Music by: Courtney Faith


(Verse 1)

Today we stand together

Our hearts becoming one

The spaces in between us

Slowly come undone


It’s been a long and weary road

We didn’t bend, we didn’t let go

Our love it is the reason

We’re standing here today


Now through life’s sorrows

Through life’s pain

I promise you I’ll never leave

Your side again...



(Chorus)

So give me all your worries

Give me all your tears

Share with me all your joys darling

Lend me all your years


My heart will be your shelter,

My arms will be your home

No matter where life takes us,

You’ll never walk alone


(Verse 2)

Tomorrows stretch before us

All the promises and unknowns

These hands you hold will hold you

Wherever you may go


I will hold you in the laughter

And the joys along the way

I will love you even more than

I love you here today

And I am here to stay…


(Chorus)

So give me all your worries

Give me all your tears

Share with me all your joys darling

Lend me all your years


My heart will be your shelter,

My arms will be your home

No matter where life takes us,

You’ll never walk alone


(Bridge)

And as the years march on

As time it whispers by

As the world around you fades away…

I’ll be by your side


(Chorus)

So give Him all your worries

Give Him all your tears

Thank Him for all your joys darling

Pray for all your years

His heart will be our shelter and

His arms will be our home

No matter where He takes us,

We’ll never walk alone,

You’ll never walk alone….


You'll Never Walk Alone is such a special piece. After two long years of long-distance dating, my husband and I were married on August 5, 2016, and this poem was made into a song by my dear friend Courtney. As I was trying to plan music for my wedding, I was struggling to find music that was meaningful to me, to use during our Lighting of the Unity Candle. One night I expressed my struggles to Courtney, who I knew was very musically talented. I proposed the idea of writing a song for the wedding - if I wrote the lyrics could she compose for me? She was so excited and quickly agreed. When I asked her what kind of poem she was looking for, I remember her saying, "Just write down what you really feel in your heart about Darren." And so I did. That same night You'll Never Walk Alone was written - within that same hour even. Only a few tweaks and add-ons needed to be made later. Little did I know that Courtney was also at work with some beautiful chords she'd been playing around with. When I sent her the words to my song the next day, she messaged me back not long after; the words were fitting nearly perfectly with what she had been preparing. Something we could not have orchestrated on our own! The song turned out beautifully and whenever I hear it I am brought back to exactly how I felt on my wedding day. So thankful that God brought us together, took the distance away, and made us one flesh. Truly He has been our shelter and our home from day one, and we never walk alone.





Photo Credits: Jenny Marie Photography

Video Credits: Courtney Faith

Singers: Tayler & Courtney



Wedding Video Credits: Aesthetic Essence Photography


233 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page